INT Home | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | INT-ra Net | KIT


+49 (0)721 608-28902

FAX: +49 (0)721 608-28901

email: office∂int kit edu


Mailing Address

P.O. Box 3640
76021 Karlsruhe

KIT Campus North
Building 640


News Archive

Wegener 3d printing
Prof. Wegener is awarded Erwin Schrödinger Prize

Prof. Martin Wegener, research unit chair at the INT, receives, together with Profs. M. Bastmeyer and Ch. Barner-Kowollik, Erwin Schrödinger Prize for cell cultivation in a 3D-laserprinted ultrasmall "Petri dish."

Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft News
Maximilian Fichtner and Christian Punckt received a highly competitive EC grant

M. Fichtner (Energy Storage Group) and C. Punckt (NanoMat) won a grant, focused on developing a new class of powerful materials for electrochemical energy storage, within the FET Open Call "Novel ideas for radically new technologies."

NanoMat Projects
Carbon nanotubes for high-density, short-channel transistors

 Highly enriched samples of semiconducting single walled carbon nanotubes have been prepared by combining polymer-wrapping with size-exclusion chromatography. Using this SWCNTs short-channel transistors were built showing the best performance published so far. More see ACS Nano, Article ASAP.

Prof. Gumbsch elected as a member of the US National Academy of Engineering

Prof. Peter Gumbsch, research unit chair at the INT, was elected a member of the US NAE for his multiscale modeling research in the fields of fracture mechanics and deformation behavior of materials.

Prof. Rockstuhl elected as 2016 Fellow of the Optical Society of America

Prof. Carsten Rockstuhl, research unit chair at the INT, was recently elected as an OSA Fellow for his seminal contributions to the field of theoretical and computational nanophotonics.

OSA News
Prof. Wernsdorfer receives Humboldt Professorship at KIT

Prof. Wolfgang Wernsdorfer, who has close collaborative ties with the INT, was awarded an Alexander von Humboldt Professorship at the KIT.

KIT News
Prof. Gleiter is awarded a Cothenius Medal

Prof. Herbert Gleiter, one of the founders of the INT, receives a Cothenius Medal from the Leopoldina.

Leopoldina News
Prof. Fichtner appointed as director of Helmholtz Institute Ulm

Prof. Maximilian Fichtner, leader of the research group “Energy Storage Systems,” is succeeding Prof. Horst Hahn as executive director of our partner institute, the Helmholtz-Institut Ulm.

Helmholtz Institute Ulm news
Prof. Fuchs receives Honorary Professorship
Prof. Fuchs receives honorary professorship

Prof. Harald Fuchs, research unit chair at the INT, was awarded an Honorary Professorship by NanjingTech University for his achievements in Nanotechnology.

NanjingTech University news
KIT Jahresfeier 2015 Innovationspreis Dennis Danilov
INT researchers awarded innovation prize

At the recent annual university celebration, Horst Hahn, Wolfgang Wenzel, and Denis Danilov were awarded second prize in the exceptional category in the KIT Innovation Contest.

KIT Innovation website
Dr. Sylwia Sekula-Neuner and Dr. Michael Hirtz
Innovations in allergy research

Our project on mast cell activation for allergy testing is featured in the KIT innovation report.

Neuland - KIT Innovation Highlights
Herbet Gleiter featured in looKIT
Herbert Gleiter- materials scientist with a brilliant international career

Our institute's founder is featured in the latest edition of the KIT magazine "lookKIT."

lookKIT January 2015
Nanoglass YouTube Video feature Professor Horst Hahn
Nanoglass- material of the future

Learn more about Nanoglass in this interview with our institute director, Professor Horst Hahn, on YouTube (German).

Watch the video
Price Ceremony

Michael Hirtz was awarded the prize for "best talk given by a young researcher" at the 17. Heiligenstädter Kolloquium on technical systems for the life sciences. 

Award details
Patrick Müller
Geschichten aus dem KIT-Shuttle

Patrick Müller, Physiker und Doktorand, fährt fünf- bis sechsmal in der Woche mit dem KIT-Shuttle zum Campus Nord, um in den Laboren des Instituts für Nanotechnologie zu experimentieren.

KIT Dialog Artikel 4.2014
Pat Goldberg Memorial Award
INT researchers awarded IBM Best Paper Award

"Light-matter Interaction in a Microcavity-controlled Graphene Transistor," co-authored by  Dr. Michael Engel, Prof. Hilbert v. Löhneysen and Prof. Ralph Krupke and researchers from Cambridge University and IBM, is one of five papers to win this year's Pat Goldberg Memorial Award for the best papers published in 2012.

KIT press release
Professor Herbert Gleiter
INT founder elected to The Academy of Europe

Professor Herbert Gleiter has been elected to the Academia Europaea, an organization of leading experts across academic fields who collectively promote learning, education and research.

KIT internal news
INT 10km run Team
INT team wins second place

INT scientists Simone Ferrari, Lukas Gerhard, Ralph Krupke, and Jens Mohrmann won second place, out of 18 teams, in the 2014 KIT 10km championship run.

Championship Results
Dr. Benjamin Flavel
Scientists' work profiled in Nanotechweb

Ben Flavel and his colleagues' work on DWCNTs is covered by the UK based nanotechnology news website Nanotechweb.

Nanotechweb Article
Professor Wölfle
Simon Memorial Prize awarded to Professor Peter Wölfle

Current Honorary Adviser at the INT and former Research Unit Chair, Professor Wölfle has been awarded for his "fundamental contributions to the theory of quantum transport processes in superfluid3 He, heavy fermion superconductors and disordered metals".

Press Release in German

Award Details
mechanical invisibility cloak diagram forces
An elasto-mechanical unfeelability cloak made of pentamode metamaterials

KIT researchers have created the first mechanical invisibility cloak. When placed over an object, the object cannot be felt at all — either by a finger, or a more sensitive measuring device.

Nature Communications June 2014

Press Release in German
KIT Forscher bauen optische Tarnkappe für Nebel
Invisibility cloaking in a diffusive light scattering medium Researchers at the KIT have developed a cloak that is broadband, omnidirectional, and big enough to hide a macroscopic object. The new cloak works  in foggy or "diffusive" conditions.

Press Release in German
Professor Luisa De Cola
Professor De Cola honored

April 2014

Professor Luisa De Cola has been elected as a member of the German National Academy of Sciences, Leopoldina. As well, French President Francois Hollande nominated her as “Chevalier de la Légion d´Honneur.”

Further Details
Patrik Rath KDOP award
KDOP publication award

Patrik Rath wins the KDOP outstanding publication award in the research area "Photonic Materials & Devices" for his work on diamond optomechanics. Congratulations!

Prism Award recipients
Nanoscribe Startup Receives Award Nanoscribe, a spin-off from the KIT, has received the „Prism Award 2014“, awarded by the International Society for Optics and Photonics (SPIE) for outstanding innovations in Photonics. Press Release
The Institute of Nanotechnology and the Herbert Gleiter Institute plan to conduct complementary research. (Photo: Nils Gräber, KIT)
Institute of Nanotechnology – A Model for China

The Chinese Nanjing University of Science and Technology is establishing a nanoscience institute using the Institute of Nanotechnology as a model.

Press Release