INT Home | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | INT-ra Net | KIT
Prof. Dr.  Christian Kübel
Prof. Dr. Christian Kübel

Deputy Head of the Karlsruhe Nano Micro Facility and Group Leader Electron Microscopy
Room: 0-101
Bldg.: 640
Campus Nord

KIT Campus North
Building 640


Helmholtz Institute Ulm
HIU Logo

Helmholtzstraße 11
89081 Ulm

Phone: +49 (731) 50 34001


Karlsruhe Nano Micro Facility

Tel: +49 (0)721 608-23123
Fax: +49 (0)721 608-26273

knmf-useroffice∂kit edu 

Electron Microscopy and Spectroscopy Laboratory

The Electron Microscopy and Spectroscopy Laboratory (EMSL) at the Institute of Nanotechnology (INT) at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) focuses on structural and compositional characterization at the atomic to nanometer scale, providing a direct bridge between synthesis/processing and properties/functionalities of materials for target oriented materials research and development.


The microscopy team in April 2019: a multidisciplinary group of researchers combining physicists, chemists and a geologist to cover the various application areas of electron microscopy (from left to right: Lakshmi Sravani Mantha, Wu Wang, Andrey Mazilkin, Vanessa Wollersen, Vinga Szabo, Ou Jin, Sabine Schlabach, Kai Wang, Christian Kübel, Di Wang, Torsten Scherer, Saleh Gorji, Leyi Chen, Ankush Kashiwar, Xiaohui Huang, Arshpreet Singh, Xiaoke Mu, Shyam Kumar Neelekandhan.




Congratulation Dr. Wu Wang

Wu Wang successfully defended his PhD in March 2019 at the Technical University Darmstadt

Top 100 Read Article 2017
Top 100 Read Articles 2017 Scientific Reports

F. Fedorov, M. Vasilkov, A. Lashkov, A. Varezhnikov, D. Fuchs, C. Kübel, M. Bruns, M. Sommer, V. Sysoev
Scientific Reports, 2017, 7, 9732, DOI: 10.1038/s41598-017-10495-8

In situ observation of nanocrystalline graphene formation
Understanding Graphitization and Growth of free-standing Nanocrystalline Graphene using In Situ Transmission Electron Microscopy

C.N. Shyam Kumar, V.S.K. Chakravadhanula, A. Riaz, S. Dehm, D. Wang, X. Mu, B. Flavel, R. Krupke, C. Kübel
Nanoscale, 2017, 9, 12835-12842; DOI: 10.1039/C7NR03276E 

Foreign Fellow of the A.P. Akademi of Sciences

Congratulations to Dr. Kiran Chakravadhanula, who was nominated as Foreign Fellow of the A.P. Akademi of Sciences in 2017.

ABAP Gold Medal for Advanced Research in Nanoscience and Technology

Congratulation to Dr. Kiran Chakravadhanula, who received the ABAP Gold Medal for Advanced Research in Nanoscience and Technology at the International Conference on Innovation in Pharma and Biopharma Industry 2017.

2017 Adv. Mater. - VFET
Sub-50 nm Channel Vertical Field-Effect Transistors Using Conventional Ink-Jet Printing

 T.T. Baby, M. Rommel, F. von Seggern, P. Friederich, C. Reitz, S. Dehm, C. Kübel, W. Wenzel, H. Hahn, S. Dasgupta
Advanced Materials, 2017, 29, 1603858; DOI: 10.1002/adma.201603858

2016 Ultramicroscopy - LFP Boundary Anaylsis
Comprehensive analysis of TEM methods for LiFePO4/FePO4 phase mapping: spectroscopic techniques (EFTEM, STEM-EELS) and STEM diffraction techniques (ACOM-TEM)

 X. Mu, A. Kobler, D. Wang, V.S.K. Chakravadhanula, S. Schlabach, D.V. Szabó, P. Norby, C. Kübel
Ultramicroscopy, 2016, 170, 10-18; DOI: 10.1016/j.ultramic.2016.07.009

2016 Ultramicroscopy - RDF Mapping
Radial distribution function imaging by STEM diffraction: Phase mapping and analysis of heterogeneous nanostructured glasses

X. Mu, D. Wang, F. Tao, C. Kübel
Ultramicroscopy, 2016, 168, 1-6; DOI: 10.1016/j.ultramic.2016.05.009 

2016 Beilstein in situ TEM
In situ observation of deformation processes in nanocrystalline face-centered cubic metals

 A. Kobler, C. Brandel, H. Hahn, C. Kübel
Beilstein Journal of Nanotechnology, 2016, 7, 572–580; DOI: 10.3762/bjnano.7.50

2015 Chem Mat CdS Self-Assembly
Controlled Solvothermal Routes to Hierarchical 3D Superparticles of Nanoscopic CdS

T.I. Levchenko, C. Kübel, D. Wang, B.K. Najafabadi, Y. Huang, J. F. Corrigan
Chemistry of Materials, 2015, 27(10), 3666-3682; DOI: 10.1021/acs.chemmater.5b00586.

2015 Angew. Chemie - POM-C4-POSS
An artificial honeycomb structured crystal formed by self-assembly of an asymmetric co-cluster

 C. Ma, H. Wu, Z.-H. Huang, R.-H. Guo, M.-B. Hu, C. Kübel, L.-T. Yan, W. Wang
Angewandte Chemie Int. Ed. Engl., 2015, 54, 15699 –15704; DOI: 10.1002/anie.201507237.

Nature Photonics
Integrated all-photonic non-volatile multi-level memory

C. Rios, M. Stegmaier, P. Hosseini,D. Wang, T. Scherer, C.D. Wright, H. Bhaskaran, W.H. Pernice

Nature Photonics (2015) 9, 725–732.

ACOM-STEM image of ncNi with deformation processes overlaid
Untangling dislocation and grain boundary mediated plasticity in nanocrystalline Nickel J. Lohmiller, M. Grewer, C. Braun, A. Kobler, C. Kübel, V. Honkimäki, O. Kraft, R. Birringer, P.A. Gruber, Acta Mat., 2014, 65, 295-307. Additional information
High-resolution transmission electron microscope observations of multi-walled carbon nanotube microstructures M. Gaillard, C. Kübel, C. Boulmer-Leborgne, D. Wang,N. Semmar, A. Petit, E. Millon JVST B, 2013, 31(3), 031805; DOI: 10.1116/1.4804543 Research Details